The 2016 Administrative Appeals Tribunal Mooting Competition is open to all law students enrolled in Australian Universities. The competition aims to expose law students to the unique merits review jurisdiction of the Tribunal thereby highlighting the differences between Tribunal practice and procedure and that of the courts. Its purpose is also to encourage law students to have an interest in pursuing administrative law practice upon completion of their legal studies.

Teams must include two members who act as Senior and Junior Counsel and may also include a third team member to assist. The Grand Final will be held in October, and adjudicated by the President of the Tribunal, Justice Duncan Kerr, and two members of the Tribunal. The Grand Final is followed by a formal presentation ceremony and light refreshments.

The Deakin Law School has the exciting opportunity to register up to 3 teams for the 2016 competition. Registration is now open until Friday 3rd June and selection will take place thereafter by the Law School.

Registration can be completed here.
Please do not attempt to apply directly through the competition website.

To find more details on the competition click here.